Not Quite Narwhal

  • Title: Not Quite Narwhal
  • Author: Jessie Sima
  • ISBN: 9781481469098
  • Page: 154
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Not Quite Narwhal In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals Growing up in th
    In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family Sure, he s always been a little bit different his tusk isn t as long, he s not as good of aIn the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family Sure, he s always been a little bit different his tusk isn t as long, he s not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn t enjoy the cuisine Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns The revelation leaves him torn is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all encompassing love of family.

    • Best Read [Jessie Sima] ☆ Not Quite Narwhal || [Christian Book] PDF ↠
      154 Jessie Sima
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Jessie Sima] ☆ Not Quite Narwhal || [Christian Book] PDF ↠
      Posted by:Jessie Sima
      Published :2020-04-21T02:19:33+00:00

    About Jessie Sima


    1. Jessie Sima is an author illustrator living and working in New York City She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends They took it quite well Not Quite Narwhal Simon Schuster BFYR is Jessie s debut picture book Visit her online at jessiesima


    850 Comments


    1. Click here to watch a video review of this book on my channel, From Beginning to Bookend. Born deep in the ocean, Kelp is a unicorn who knows he's different from his family of narwhals. When a rogue current carries him away from home, he breaches the surface and spots a sparkling creature that looks just like him. Curious, he ventures onto land in search of the mysterious creature. Everything on land was strange and beautiful - but also kind of scary. Kelp began to think he might never find the [...]

      Reply

    2. Each year my family reads all the -award-nominated picture books, and we have been doing this for years. Everyone rates each book and adds a comment and it may (or may not) affect my overall rating. This is book #9 of 2017.Tara: 4 stars. Cute. But why didn't the narwhals tell him he was a unicorn right away, if they knew!?Harry (12): 4.5 stars. Be who your inner self wants you to be.Hank (11): 4.3 stars. I thought I was there! I completely forgot where I was when I was reading it!Lyra (10): 4.5 [...]

      Reply

    3. Narwhals are underwater unicorns, don't you know!?

      Reply

    4. Adorable young unicorn doesn't quite fit in with his narwhal friends and family. Then he finds out why. Beautiful illustrations, and a sweet little story about acceptance and respect for difference.

      Reply

    5. Bilderbücher sind eine feine Sache. Wenn man zu jung ist zum Lesen, dann sind Bilder und Illustrationen der erste Weg, um den Weg zu Büchern zu finden. Und obwohl ich aus der Zielgruppe falle, so konnte mich "Das kleine Walhorn" absolut verzaubern. Die Illustrationen sind farbig und mit sehr viel Liebe zum Detail und Humor gestaltet. Nori ist eine Mischung aus Einhorn und Narwal und weiß nicht so genau, wo sein Platz auf der Welt ist. In einem 40-seitigen Abenteuer erkundet er die Meere und s [...]

      Reply

    6. Beautiful illustrations and a feel good story about finding out about who you are and realizing that you don’t have to choose between friends no matter what the differences between you are.

      Reply

    7. So very cute!! My daughter (8) read the first page and then immediately called her older brother over so she could read to him and show him the pictures. The illustration of baby Kelp made her melt, and she loved the happy message of love and acceptance. :) Can't wait for more from Jessie!

      Reply

    8. We couldn't love this book anymore. It's a fun and important story that teaches that looking different doesn't matter to those who love you! Especially great for any children of adoption! Can't wait for Jessie Sima to write another book!

      Reply

    9. Will use for theme.This little book surprised me. Packed with a message that I didn't know it had.This one is going to end up in my picture book collection.

      Reply

    10. My nieces and nephews love this book because it combines the former's love of unicorns with the latter's love of whales. As a bonus, it's really cute.

      Reply

    11. wasn't expecting to like this as much as i did but i was very impressed by it. jessie sima is both author and illustrator and she did a fantastic job on her first book. the illustrations are so adorable. kelp was TOO CUTE ♥ and the message was such a wonderful one for kids to learn while they are still kids. you can be both! you can be whatever you are/whoever you are and you don't have to pick just one side of yourself to be. BE IT ALL AND BE PROUD AND HAPPY ♥ there are rainbows and unicorn [...]

      Reply

    12. What a cute little sparkly book. The gist: Kelp has always been different from other Narwhals and finds out maybe he's not one. And maybe it's not such a bad thing to be different. What a great book about love, acceptance and family and that you can have all that and then some.

      Reply

    13. WHAT IS THIS MAGIC?! CAN THIS BE REAL LIFE?! Thanks to Megan and Anna for bringing this to my attention. I must buy this book and yes it will be all mine.

      Reply

    14. Who we are, where we belong, how big all of this can be. Lovely little book.

      Reply

    15. this is the greatest book of all time.

      Reply

    16. I was browsing the children's section at Barnes and Noble last night and I couldn't help but to plop myself down on the floor and read this book. All I can say, is that if you have a youngster that loves unicorns, you will want to buy this book. The page where the the unicorns are teaching Kelp to shoot rainbows out of his hornorable. Come to think of it, I think I want this book.

      Reply

    17. Dad: Poppy loves unicorns:She's kindof been in a phase. ---How many unicorns do you have, Poppy?Poppy: MMMMmmmmm I think Probably about four. Because my baby one is lost, and the other three is not lost.Dad: What are their names?Poppy: Sally, Unicornia, Lilliana, and Mia.Dad: What about you, when you turn into a unicorn? Do you have a name?Poppy: Also, Lilly. Not Lilliana.Dad: So Lilly and Lilliana are two different unicorns?Poppy: Yeeeesssssss Because Because Lilliana has an "anna" in it, and L [...]

      Reply

    18. Ok just take five minutes and read this book. It's wonderful. If it doesn't make you smile you should seriously question whether or not you are a robot person.

      Reply

    19. Unicorns and rainbows!Kelp was raised in the ocean as a narwhal, but he’s different than his fellow narwhals. Everything from his short tusk and slow swimming makes him stand out from the pack. His family doesn’t mind though. Kelp just keeps on swimming until one day a strong current sweeps him off course and above water! On land, Kelp befriends all sorts of new animals--including unicorns. Hmm….Kelp can’t help noticing that he looks just like a unicorn. He fits right in. Could Kelp actu [...]

      Reply

    20. A new favorite! Adorable illustrations, and a story that can be read on many levels. I can see using with younger students relating to friendship and community building, yet with older students it could be read into much more about identity, who we are, how we find our true selves, and acceptance. Love it and will be sharing often!

      Reply

    21. It's so cute! I love Kelp. :D

      Reply

    22. What an adorable little book! Illustrations are wonderful and the story is heart warming. As an adoptee, this book really spoke to me (especially the ending). 5 stars all day long

      Reply

    23. Adorable illustrations with a beautiful message.

      Reply

    24. This is an absolutely terrific little picture book about a Unicorn raised amongst Narwhals. Kelp doesn't quite fit in with his family, although there's no angst about it; then he spies some creatures on the land who look just like him. With the encouragement of his adopted Narwhal community goes to see what they're all about and a lovely story unfolds.The illustrations are delightful; the gently-told story about identity, belonging and acceptance unfolds easily and without any hint of preachines [...]

      Reply

    25. Very very cute. I burst out laughing when he goes back to the narwhals, afraid to tell them that he is, in fact, a unicorn, and they are like, "Uh-huh. We know that already." (Because duh, look at you.)

      Reply

    26. Probably one of the cutest picture books I have read in quite some time.

      Reply

    27. Reading about Kelp the Narwhal was like a breath of fresh air. In a completely non-didactic way, Sima explores being part of a community, being different, and being yourself. The illustrations are incredibly sweet and the text is quite lovely as well. All this, plus unicorns!

      Reply

    28. Which are you--a narwhal or a unicorn? An adorable critter named Kelp starts out with his narwhal friends. He looks and feels a little different, and he doesn't love their seafood diet. But he's fine with it alluntil a current sweeps him away and carries him to land. There he discovers a family of unicorns who welcome him and set him straight. Kelp enjoys his new friends but misses his narwhal friends too. Can he live in both worlds? A wonderful read with delightful illustrations by debut author [...]

      Reply

    29. I've always been a little anti-princess/pro-unicorn as far as fantasy worlds go and it was a thrill to find this completely sweet picture book featuring Kelp the Narwhal. **cough cough unicorn** (There are just So. Many. Princess. Books.) The illustrations are refreshingly light and playful; I totally laughed out loud a couple of times the first time I read it. The text is pitch perfect with non-preachy/saccharine messages about inclusion, celebrating differences, and being proud of yourself and [...]

      Reply

    30. One look at that little character on the cover and I knew I was in for a treat. He is downright adorable. I know you will be just as pleased with little Kelp's story as I am. Kelp was born deep in the ocean but he is very different than the other narwhals around him. He can't quite put his finger on it but he knows he isn't the same. One look at him convinces you that he definitely is a unicorn but a unicorn living amongst narwhals is very, very unusual indeed. Yep, Kelp has a tusk but it's not [...]

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *